Monday, March 27, 2006

The Hans Christian Andersen Award

Margaret Mahy (of New Zealand) has won the Hans Christian Andersen for contributions to children's literature (writing). Here is pertinent information about the award from the award site:
  • "Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature".
  • "The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards."
  • "The nominations are made by the National Sections of IBBY and the recipients are selected by a distinguished international jury of children's literature specialists."

Margaret Mahy is the author of stories, poetry, picture books, and novels for children. Her website lists her most recent works. In addition, according to the press release, "her first two novels, The Haunting and The Changeover, won the prestigious British Carnegie Medal for 1982 and 1984." Thanks to a Child_Lit member for the press release.

Here are some additional links about the award:

Past winners

Nominees for 2006

Jury for the 2006 prize